Happy Free Comic Book Day!

By: Caitlin Elam

IMG_1457
The last Free Comic Book Day I went to when Abby was a little baby

Since I had the time and I haven’t been to a Free Comic Book Day since Abby was a wee tot, I decided to go this year. I wasn’t disappointed because a. I got to go by myself (if you have a kid, you understand) and b. it was a fun time!

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

Bosco’s is my LCS (Local Comic Shop) but I rarely get a chance to go out there as much as I would like. I try to stay as current as possible but money, time, and money are a factor in that. Free Comic Day is a great opportunity for me to pick up books for, well, free (yay!) and check out some titles I might not have given a chance if I had to pay for it. I personally picked up Rick and Morty from the Cartoon Network show of the same name, Wonder Woman, DC Superhero Girls (for Abby), and Guardians of the Galaxy.

It is literally the best sales tactic I’ve ever seen for comic books. I remember when I was working at Collectibles Etc. in Lexington Kentucky, Tony Florence (my boss) had me dress up as Supergirl and stand on the corner for the whole day. I got honked at quite a bit, had a few people call me a “fucking retard”, and some supportive, nice people as well. It was fun despite the fact that I locked my keys in my truck later in the day and also caused a car wreck. Yes, I caused a car wreck. A man was looking at me and rear-ended the person in front of him at the stop light. Oops! Unlike the real Supergirl, I ran away and since it was nearing the end of the day, anyway, we called it a day for me being out there. I also got sunburned on my face.

IMG_1453
Photographic proof, which I will probably regret posting later

This time around, I loved going sans costume and sign and just enjoyed perusing the comics, seeing others in costume, and taking pictures. I won a free sandwich from Carl’s Jr. and KFAT, a local radio station that was running a spinning wheel prize table. I love any opportunity to get out in the community and meet fellow geeks.

IMG_1451

Oh! I got a really cool patch for Abby’s Daisy Scout uniform. It never ceases to amaze and amuse that whenever I go back for some nostalgia from my own child/teen years, I can share it with my daughter in some way. I couldn’t wait to get home and sew it on Abby’s blue uniform with the rest of her “fun badges” that she’s allowed to have on the back.

IMG_1448

There was a fair deal of controversy attached this year with Nick Spencer’s Secret Empire, though I wasn’t cognizant of that at the store. It was an event mainly for kids, not politics, and I’m glad of that. Children do not need to be subjected to that kind of divisive bullshit, quite frankly.

Whether you think that Nick Spencer’s turning Captain America into a Hydra Agent is a good move or not, it doesn’t change the fact that people flocked to Twitter in the aftermath of the book hitting the shelves to boast burning the book or, in one Twitter user’s case, hiding the books in the bathroom. The user’s defense was that she put them “where they belonged”.

Stop burning books, guys. If you don’t like them, don’t read them. I’m not going to draw any correlations between burning books and Nazis – I think perhaps that’s a bit hyperbolic but it is pretty ironic, at the very least.

And that’s all I’m going to say about that because I’d really hate to cast a pall on what was otherwise a really great event. End of the day? I think a lot of great books came out and hopefully it drums up interest for new titles hitting the shelves and younger audiences of readers.

Leave a Reply

